Council in Action

  1. Home
  2. Council in Action
  3. Press Release

[20 Apr 2012] Ms Shirley Chan, JP Appointed as Chairman of the 4th BDC General Committee

Through election, appointment and nomination in accordance with its Memorandum and Articles, the 4th General Committee of the Hong Kong Brand Development Council (BDC) was formed recently. The General Committee held its first meeting on 20 April 2012 and four standing committees, namely the “Hong Kong Top Brand Assessment Board”, “Technical Advisory Committee”, “Promotion and Advocacy Committee” and “Finance Committee” were set up as the operational arms to carry out various initiatives of the BDC.

The Chairman of the 4th BDC General Committee is Ms Shirley Chan. As the CEO of YGM Trading Ltd, Ms Chan is well-versed in brand management. Throughout the years, she has been actively participating in community services. She is currently a member of the Hong Kong Tourism Board and a member of the Textile Advisory Board of HKSAR Government. During her tenure as Vice-Chairman of the 1st BDC General Committee and Chairman of the 2nd and 3rd BDC General Committee, Ms Chan had spared no efforts in broadening the membership base and enhancing the profile of the Council, thus laying a sound foundation for further development of the BDC. Under the able leadership of Ms Chan and with a strong line-up of the new General Committee members, it is believed that the BDC will continue to scale new heights.

The BDC is honoured to have invited Mr Gregory So, JP,  Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development as Honorary Patron; Mr Kenneth C Y Mak, JP, Director-General of Trade and Industry and Mr Jerry Liu, Head of Create Hong Kong as Honorary Advisors; and Mr Irons Sze, President of the Chinese Manufacturers’ Association of Hong Kong as Honorary Chairman. Besides, Mr Ng Ching Wun, Mr Simon Wong and Mr Charlie Lee have been elected as the Council’s Vice-Chairmen.

Established in 2005, the BDC aims to promote Hong Kong brands and products, to advocate innovations and creativity, to foster an environment conducive to brand-building, and to enhance exchange, association and cooperation among companies in regard to brand development. The main activities under the aegis of the Council include the “Hong Kong Top Brand Awards”, “Hong Kong Top Service Brand Awards”, “Hong Kong Emerging Brand Awards”, “Hong Kong Emerging Service Brand Awards”, “Hong Kong Top Brand Mark Scheme”, “Made in Hong Kong Mark Scheme”, “SME Branding Club” and the publication of “The Parade of Hong Kong Top Brands”.

The term of office of the 4th BDC General Committee lasts for three years, from 1 April 2012 to 31 March 2015.

Chairman Ms Shirley Chan (centre, front row); Vice-Chairman Mr Ng Ching Wun (2nd from right, front row) ; General Committee Members Dr Edward Chan (1st from right, front row), Mr Aaron Shum (3rd from right, back row), Dr Lo Kam Wing (3rd from left, back row), Dr Sunny Chai (2nd from right, back row), Mr Frank Pak (2nd from left, back row), Mr Wong Wai Sheung (2nd from left, front row), Mr Addy Wong (1st from left, front row) and CEO Mr Paul Leung(1st from right, back row) pose for a photo after the first meeting of the 4th BDC General Committee.